UNIABUJA elects new SUG officials

Join Our Telegram Channel Join Our WhatsApp Channel

Abdullahi Muhammad Kabir(Danzaria), 400 Level student of civil engineering, has emerged the speaker of the UofA Student Union Government.

He won the position in a keenly contested in-house election from the Student Representative Assembly (SRA) on Saturday 12th August 2023.

UNIABUJA elects new SUG officials

Other elected principal officers of the SUG/SRA include the deputy speaker, Dara Abasi Faith Archibong, 400 Level student of Private and property Law; Clerk, Aisha Mahmud Bello,400 level, Political Science; deputy clerk; Yunana Bisuwilai Abafras, 500 level, Veterinary Medicine; and Hassan Idris, 400 level Department of Sociology was elected the chief whip. Bello Yahya Badamasi, 400level student of the Department of Philosophy emerged the president and head of the cabinet. Other members of the cabinet are Okoro C. Edwina, 600level, Veterinary Medicine, elected Vice President; Alina, Nkem Silas, 400level Private and Property Law, secretary general; Asmau Muhammad Falalu, 300 level Political Science department, assistant secretary general; Muhammad Khalid,400level, Arts Education, director of finance; Ishola Adedeji Michael 400 level Department of Economics, was elected director of welfare. Yusuf Yaro Adamu,400 level, Department of History and Diplomatic Studies is the director of socials; Okeke Michael Ikedichukwu, 300 level, Department of Physics is director of information; Abdulazeez Abdulkabir, 300level, Department of Guidance and Counselling is director of sports; while Gimba Jibrin, 400level, of the computer science department emerged the provost.

Swearing in the newly elected SUG/SRA 2022/2023 yesterday on the main campus, the vice-chancellor, Professor Abdul-Rasheed Na’Allah, charged the student representatives on integrity, urging them to aspire to add value to the campus leaving it better than they met it.

The UofA operates a unique parliamentary system where 51 student representatives were elected into the Student Representative Assembly ( SRA) from every faculty and all the hostels in electronically by all the UofA students through their portal. The principal officers and the cabinet members were afterwards elected from the SRA.

facebook sharing button
twitter sharing button
whatsapp sharing button
email sharing button
print sharing button

Related Posts

Share this Post: If you believe that this post may aid someone else, kindly share it by using the buttons above!

Leave a Comment